Ukon Wacka
Style: Party/Folk Metal
Release date: 4 February, 2011
Playing time: 41:31

In a perfect world every album would be like "Painkiller" by Judas Priest, Slayer's "Reign in Blood" or "Now, Diabolical" by Satyricon. These albums has one thing in common: They don't contain filler material. Every song stands out as a brilliant and original piece of art. Together they form an organic whole, but each work miracles in its own right.

This is not a perfect world, however, and most albums need a lot of mortar tracks to bind together the memorable songs. As anyone with just a limited knowledge of stone work (and music) knows, too much mortar binding together too few bricks will seriously weaken a wall. This is what happens on "Ukon Wacka".

I was among the first in my social circle to discover Korpiklaani when their first full-length, "Spirits of the Forest" (2003) found its way out of the darkened Finnish woodlands, simultaneously crawling out of the cultural underground. I was impressed with their use of folk instruments - they were certainly not the first to do it, but definitely among the best. I liked the contagious party mood tightly packed into every track. They even gave me one of the most insane concert experiences of my life (the only thing keeping me alive was my rugby-player friend moshing in circles around me!).

Sadly, since the release of the follow-up "Voice of Wilderness" (2005), this band, that really could have been among my top-ten music groups, first stalled, then began a downwards trip towards complete repetition and mass production songwriting. As you can imagine, I write this with a bad taste in my mouth.

"Ukon Wacka" has its moments, but mostly it follows the recipe set down by the four albums between the two above and this one. Song are primarily based on overwhelmingly noisy guitars, spliced together with various folk strings and accordion - all behind the rusty drunk voice of Jonne Järvelä. The only song that really stands out is Tuoppi Oltta, with its frail flute pieces and melodiously fetching refrain. The all over musical quality is fairly high, the recording is good, but perhaps Korpiklaani needs a break to refocus their efforts.


01. Louhen Yhdeksäs Poika (3:23)
02. Päät Pois Tai Hirteen (3:14)
03. Tuoppi Oltta (3:34)
04. Lonkkaluut (5:39)
05. Tequila (2:42)
06. Ukon Wacka (5:08)
07. Korvesta Liha (4:31)
08. Koivu Ja Tähti (4:17)
09. Vaarinpolkka (2:19)
10. Surma (6:21)

Label: Nuclear Blast
Distribution: Warner Music
Reviewed by: Martin Schjönning
Date: 3 February, 2011
Website: www.korpiklaani.com