I've Failed You
Style: Heavy Metal
Release date: 2 September, 2011
Playing time: 36:27

Lumped in the nü metal genre early on, KITTIE have done their best to step out of that shadow in recent years. From title track CD opener, it’s all out metal — hard and heavy with Morgan Lander’s ferocious bark spilling forth.
The Canadian all-girl quartet have gone through numerous lineups in the past, but sisters Morgan and Mercedes Lander have remained constant. This is the third consecutive album with guitarist Tara McLeod, and bassist Ivy Vujic has been with the band since 2008, making Kittie the most solid unit in years past.
Morgan’s clean vocals aren’t as present on this release, first appearing briefly in track three,“Whisper of Death.” On I’ve Failed You, she relies more on her pure screaming aggression, which adds to the dark undertones of the album. The tracks are mostly short and to the point, which keeps the adrenaline pumping on I’ve Failed You
There’s some slight doom, blues and ’70s rock influences that rear its head on “What Have I Done.” “Empires (Part I)” is the calm and “Part II” is the storm. The former’s acoustic embellishments with blemishes of orchestral strings, adds to a melancholic, spiraling decent of despair before the latter kicks into some blistering aggressiveness. 
A basic, formulaic approach to heavy, dark songs with melodic interludes sums up what Kittie has done for the past 15 years. They aren’t bringing anything new to the table, but there’s not many metal chicks out there that has more of a meaner growl than Ms. Morgan, which makes her pretty distinguishable.
Although the songs on I’ve Failed You aren’t very memorable and don’t leave a lasting impression, the overall feeling is of a cohesive unit playing dark melodies with an aggressive and ugly sound that hits you right in the gut.

01. I've Failed You
02. We Are The Lamb
03. Whisper of Death
04. What Have I Done
05. Empires (Part 1)
06. Empires (Part 2)
07. Come Undone
08. Already Dead
09. Never Come Home
10. Ugly
11. Time Never Heals
Label: Massacre Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Kelley Simms
Date: 24 August, 2011