Style: Goth/Electro Metal
Release date: 28 January, 2011
Playing time: 73:14

German Katanga can best be described as a electro Goth with influences ranging from White Zombie and Rammstein to My Dying Bride. Under other circumstances, I'd be likely to be thrilled over that kind of mixture. In this case I'm most certainly not.

In more than one instance, the result of the band's hardships is simply toe-curling. When Darkness Falls is a good example. Actually a fine tribute to My Dying Bride, but the vocal performance by Mario...huhuh, stop, man, stop!

It's not all bad. Lemuria is an alright and fairly straight-forward, slightly Rammstein inspired electro-metal piece with both female and male vocals, and there's a couple of other tunes that show some quality. But on the whole, 'Moonchild' is not worth your hard-earned pocket money. The cheese factor is too high and the quality of song writing too low.

Next, please.


01. Marquis De Sade
02. Gottlos
03. Mörder der Erinnerung
04. When Darkness Falls
05. Moonchild
06. Mein Traum
07. Lemuria
08. I'm gonna die for you
09. Schwarze Flügel
10. Metropolis
11. Metamorphosis
12. Mondscheinkind
13. Das Nichts
14. Mondscheinfahrt
15. Bittermond
16. Batflight (new version)
17. From dusk till dawn (new version)
18. Death of the fun generation (new version)

Label: Massacre Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Artwork rating: 70/100
Reviewed by: Thomas Nielsen
Date: 29 January, 2011
Website: www.batflight.de