Style: Epic Death Metal
Release date: 25 November, 2011
Playing time: 50:27

First release from this German band and on the music there is not a lot to bitch about. Black metal parts, classical influences, atmospheric soundtrack sounds and symphonic elements all can be heard here. Epica is a band that enters my mind often, but in the heavier parts Wintersun is another one. The riff and opening scream in the third track "Arming for Retribution" made me think about the 'underestimated' band Dispatched (2002 - 'Motherwar'). Influences of Turisas can be also be heard in several songs.

The songs are rather well arranged and the production is tight. The weakness on the album is the vocal parts. The clean vocals are below average for today's standard, something the band should work on for their second release. The black metal screams don't impress me either; they are average and should sound more brutal and aggressive. If the band can work on that, I don't see any bumps on the road for them to get into a more leading position.


01. Shadowpath (intro)
02. Among the Lost
03. Arming for Retribution
04. Thanatos
05. Feuer Gegen Feuer
06. Hollow Heart
07. Hiding in Sorrow
08. The Eye of Horus
09. Dewfall
10. A Sinner's Remorse

Label: Massacre Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: 22 November, 2011
Website: www.myspace.com/kambrium