kaktus Project
Style: Power Metal
Release date: 15 July, 2011
Playing time: 55:28

What begins with a farewell and ends with a cover version of Queen's "Bohemian Rhapsody" is a project conceived by Sylvain Rouviere - full title is Sylvain Rouviere's Kaktus Project and it features a fine selection of guests: Amanda Somerville, Mike Di Meo, Henning Besse, Oliver Hartmann and Oliver Palotai to name a few.

They claim to be influenced by the melodic music of Stratovarius, Helloween and Edguy and you won't hear any objections on my part about that description if you add some classic rock and hard rock to the melting pot. The use of so many musicians and vocalist does off result in a very varied and versatile album; from the soft almost pop moments to the fast and furious power metal outbursts. Personally I prefer the more powerful and fast moments, but all in all I think it is a very even release with it's moments.

So if you are looking for an album which wears it's influences on the outside then I suggest you'd give this one a chance, because once you discovered all the finer parts you see it has more (not a lot) to offer than meets the eye.


01. Farewell
02. Superstition
03. Above the Flame
04. Tonight
05. Possession
06. The Sadness
07. Dark Room
08. Alone in the Dark
09. Cold in the Night
10. I'm Living in my Death
11. My Tears
12. Resurrection
13. Bohemian Rhapsody (Bonus track)

Label: Metalodic Records
Buy the disc: Metalodic Records
Reviewed by: Kenn Jensen
Date: 28 July, 2011
Website: www.myspace.com/kaktusproject