Ion Vein
IV v 1.0
Style: Progressive metal
Release date: 27 September, 2011
Playing time: 12:54

After a period of silence, Ion Vein is back with a DR (Digital Release). Three new songs with new vocalist Scott Featherstone (Enertia) and Brian Gordon handling the bass. Their 2003 album 'Reigning Memories' spun quite a few rounds in my player back then. New vocalist Scott has a rougher voice and the music sounds a little heavier because of that. All three songs are worthy listening and somewhat heavier than their 2003 album. The guitar riffs are edgier; the music is still rather melodic, but a lot less progressive.

If you like the modern Flotsam and Jetsam, I think that you can appreciate these 3 tracks too. The band made the 3 songs available for free for a limited time, but if that still counts at the moment I don't know. If you are interested, I suggest you should find out.


01. Enough
02. Love/Hate
03. Anger Inside

Label: Mortal Music
Distribution: Clawhammer PR
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: 20 November, 2011