One For Sorrow
Style: Melodic Death Metal
Release date: 17 October, 2011
Playing time: 53:07

It seems, the same melancholic ambience Insomnium has comprised within their music has again not yielded their takings. They've preceded long before with their darkened and 'deathless' sounds. And the continuous reflection is just about with their newest release, 'One For Sorrow'. It is heavily ready and perhaps something more.

To some degree, the dorian mode of composing can be in accordance to the other contenders of the genre - having the same common grounds with other Finnish acts such as; Swallow the Sun, Ghost Brigade, Omnium Gatherum and Before the Dawn. They don't necessarily overlap or subdue the windings of the other bands, but they closely inhibit some sentiments that can truly catch ones attention with this one.


It is a consistent album, although the obvious pace of the music comes too much of a bore. Fortunately, there are several songs which might refute one's apathy for the music. I believe they've perfectly crafted those assorted bunch in between the rest of the tracks. The sleep zappers being, 'Every Hour Wounds', 'Only One Who Waits' and 'Unsung'. And then a compelling notion struck me in 'Lay the Ghost to Rest'. It swiftly made me realize how the album is completely devoid of the grandness of the clean vocals, definitely should have captured more of it.

A very commendable piece, an adagio song and yet another instrumental gem is 'Decoherence'. An absolute soaring art and perhaps even more pleasing than 'Beyond The Horizon', another instrumental that can be found in their single album, 'Weather the Storm'.

The grandiosity of 'One For Sorrow' depicts the melancholic theme very well. Although, the cohesiveness and clarity of the album can't easily be summed into a specific category. Overtime, I have grown to enjoy the melodic theme and remarkable lyrics of the album, But the essence and complexity of the entire catalog still does not seamlessly suite my motives to have a listen after another. I say give it a spin, bask in its heights of glory and then look for another activity.


01 -Inertia (03:43)
02 -Through The Shadows (04:31)
03 -Song of the Blackest Bird (07:29)
04 -Only One Who Waits (05:17)
05 - Unsung (05:04)
06 - Every Hour Wounds (05:25)
07 - Decoherence (03:18)
08 - Lay the Ghost to Rest (07:46)
09 - Regain the Fire (04:27)
10 - One For Sorrow (06:07)

Label: Century Media
Distribution: EMI (Denmark)
Artwork rating: 92/100
Reviewed by: Haydee G.
Date: 11 October, 2011