There is Light (But it's not for Me)
Style: Experimental Death Metal
Release date: 4 April, 2011
Playing time: 44:59

ILLDISPOSED have always been in the avant-garde of the experimental death metal! And if some of the first in this gender became infatuated with fusion “intellectual” pop or pseudo-intellectual philosophy, this band remained to explore the metal horizons. It seems that their brave and various ideas often repel the labels. But the stable line up from 2007 till now gives rich fruits and this is the second album released by Massacre Records.


With “To These Who Walk behind Us” (2009) the band opened the door to keyboards melted into death-metal. Then the things were at a good level as if strong death metal band has invited PARADISE LOST for some solos.


Today the keyboards are much more and set their melody in a gothic manner. The death metal basis does not step aside, but the guitar solos also emphasize melody coming from the keyboards passages. These melodies carry the death metal essence of the songs to more thrash riffs.


The experiments in this direction are not new to metal. But I cannot compare ILLDISPOSED to any other band. This time they combined death and gothic metal in their unique approach.


There are lots of bands which I could not forgive a change of gender or a change of logo, keyboards and many other “sins”. But ILLDISPOSED have not disappointed me from their first album till today. “There is Light (But it’s not for Me)” is more digestible in comparison to the other their releases, but in none case weaker. The ability to sound noiseless as a death metal band is unique.


01. Your Own Best Champion
02. Heaven Forbid
03. Our Words Betrayed
04. The Taste of You
05. As the Day Rottens
06. Reality to Fail
07. Step Intro My Winter
08. Rape
09. Sunday Black
10. We
11. Alone

Label: Massacre Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Maria D. S.
Date: 24 March, 2011