Style: Hard Rock
Release date: 21 January, 2011
Playing time: 62:00

Hurtsmile might not ring a bell with anyone, but this is the first musical collaboration between Gary Cherone (Extreme, Van Halen) and his brother Mark. And this is a big family affair and a coming together of friends from the Boston scene with Joe Pessia (Bass) and Dana Spellman (Drums) completing the line-up. And as Gary explains it: "Mark, my brother, was in a band with Nuno's brother... Joe was in Nuno’s band and Dana was a friend, and student of Mike Mangini (former Extreme drummer) ... we like to keep it in the family."

Gary's charismatic and unique voice is easy recognizable and his has put his big fat fingerprint on the sound, his brother delivers some refreshing guitar work and the rhythm section lays down some serious grooves and beats. The resemblance to Extreme is pretty obvious due to the similarities in style and Gary's voice but it is not like they are a sorry and pale shadow of them, no Hurtsmile has enough strong songs to stand on their own.

The self-titled album is a fine sonic sucker punch in the face for fans of East Coast Hard Rock and I promise you more than one little surprise to pop up on the album, but do check it out...

01. Just War Theory (2:41)
02. Stillborn (3:51)
03. Love Thy Neighbor (3:42)
04. Kaffur (Infidel) (4:29)
05. Painter Paint (2:30)
06. Tolerance Song (3:23)
07. Set Me Free (4:19)
08. Jesus Would You Meet Me (3:15)
09. Slave (5:19)
10. Beyond The Garden - Kicking Against The Goads (6:25)
11. Just War Reprise (4:19)
12. The Murder Of Daniel Faulkner (4699) (5:35)
Label: Frontiers Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Kenn Jensen
Date: 2 January, 2011