Fallout Diaries
Style: Heavy Metal
Release date: 25 March, 2011
Playing time: 42:10

Giovanni Venier (vocals) and Matteo Corona (guitars) started in 2003 this band and after recruiting other members the band recorded a demo in 2007. In 2008 they released their debut album 'Headquakes'. After that the record company stopped and with a complete new line-up they started the writing for this second album.

On this second album these Italians serve modern heavy (power) metal with keyboards and nice melodies. It somewhat reminds me of Brainstorm, but then with more keys. Even the vocalist can impress me, not that he is the best around, but at least he can sing and without the at times irritating accent some Italian singers produce. The riffs are rather heavy and the band has put some good ideas in the songs. The production is good and fortunately Headquakes isn't just another Rhapsody clone. There are several up-tempo songs and the vocals of Giovanni is powerful and even with a little rough edge sometimes. He also reminds me a bit of Andy B. Franck (Brainstorm).

Nice album to hear every now and then, not a real hammer, but far from redundant too. A band with a future.


01. Vacuum
02. Come With Me (..if you wanna Live)
03. Fallout
04. Just Eyes
05. Pray Anymore
06. Prophet of the Century
07. Left Undone
08. Letters from Sector Alpha
09. Gemini Scream

Label: Crash & Burn Records
Distribution: Twilight
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: 10 May, 2011
Website: www.headquakes.com