Hate Eternal
Phoenix Amongst the Ashes
Style: Death Metal
Release date: 9 May, 2011
Playing time: 41:05

In my own private pantheon of Death Metal guitarists, the god of the gods is Chuck Schuldiner. Another legend, fortunately alive: Mister George Emmanuel III aka Trey Azagthoth. I worship also the versatility of Paul Masvidal and friends. I praise all the guys who held and hold the axe for Atheist. I love Ralph Santolla’s musicality. I update my egyptology the brutal way through the guitar duo Sanders - Toler-Wade. I miss so much another pair of surgeons: Steer and Amott. Many others deserve also cheering and the list could be long.

I am not forgetting Erik Rutan, who played with Morbid Angel and the Trey I was just talking about, and with Ripping Corpse. Erik needed his own project, created Hate Eternal, and offered Conquering the Throne (99), King of All Kings (02), I, Monarch (05), Fury and Flames (08), where ruthless death metal meets technique and creativity.

I am not here to loose your precious time with blah blah blah and I am getting now to the point: Hate Eternal signs here its best record. Let’s find some adjectives. Brutal and mercyless, of course! Tortured and oppressive, indeed! Sometimes melodic or epic, as well!  Excellent, definitely! A real trio with Jade Simonetto, who delivers a terrific drums performance, and J.J. Hrubovcak, brilliant recruit on bass.

It seems summer has directly come after winter, here in south Norway. The sun and the nature are shining and it is a paradoxal feeling to drive my good old Volvo, windows opened, listening to this smart concentrate of hate, this jewel of mortal sound, I warmly recommend you.

Hate Eternal is firing the guns one month before... Morbid Angel, featuring David Vincent. I do not know if it is a kind of friendly challenge, but guess who is spoiled? You and me!


01. Rebirth
02. The Eternal Ruler
03. Thorns of Acacia
04. Haunting Abound
05. The Art of Redemption
06. Phoenix Amongst the Ashes
07. Deathveil
08. Hatesworn
09. Lake Ablaze
10. The Fire of Resurrection

Label: Metal Blade Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Philippe Leconte
Date: 2 May, 2011
Website: www.hateeternal.com