Style: Black/Death/Thrash Metal
Release date: 27 September, 2010
Playing time: 64:00

I have to be blatantly honest: I have had a hard time deciding whether this turns out to be a positive or luke-warm review.

On one hand, I like a lot of what I heard on 'Detest'. The cool midtempo intro of Black Storm Jackals and a very nice instrumental part of same song. Ruled by Tyrants is also an excellent tune. Chaos Anthem probably my favourite track with it's driving staccato riffing. Add to this that Jason Barron has a perfect death metal voice. Reminds me of Dave Ingram in places.

On the other hand, there is an black metal gone rock tendency a la Immortal that I'm not at all keen on. Insurrection is a good example of this. And the otherwise marvellous Barron goes black metal vocally in The Sleeper Has Awakened which is a bit of a shame in this case - it turns the track into a filler in my ears.

And fillers there are on the album. Spiritual Hypnosis is another example of those. Exhauster of Souls has the same tendency although it is almost like two songs in one.

I do end up in a luke-warm rating eventually because I'm left with the feeling that 64 minutes is more than enough for Harkonin to say what they have to say. 44 minutes and everthing carved to the bone would have been more reasonable. Approved effort, but could be sharper!


01. Into Oblivion
02. Ruled by Tyrants
03. Chaos Anthem
04. Insurrection
05. The Sleeper Has Awakened
06. Black Storm Jackals
07. Spiritual Hypnosis
08. Exhauster of Souls
09. Disease
10. Detest

Label: Battlegod Productions
Promotion: Sure Shot Worx
Artwork rating: 60/100
Reviewed by: Thomas Nielsen
Date: 16 January, 2011
Website: www.harkonin.com