Style: Power Metal
Release date: 20 May, 2011
Playing time: 51:18

Warning, you might get infected by the true heavy metal of Hammerfall. They need no introduction of course, so I will stick to the music on this album. At first, the vocals on the album have improved. Joacim sounds more mature and I have the idea that he doesn't want to impress the whole world anymore that he is a good singer. There is more balance. Another thing that is different is that they've changed the producer. On earlier albums, Charlie Bauerfeind always took care of it, but they found it was time for a change.

The sound is a little bit different, but it surely is Hammerfall. Besides easy straight to the point songs like "Bang Your Head" and "I Refuse", there is room for some more epic tracks too. The band changes from fast parts into more mid-tempo and back. The variety is bigger than on earlier albums and that is a big advantage. Most eye-catching track is "Redemption", a long epic track with orchestral parts. The band have proved that common heavy power metal still has a future, not by changing a lot, but just by dotting their i's and crossing their t's. Sometimes it sounds a bit like Helloween and of course there is also room for a ballad; "Send Me a Sign". The band varies easily from rhythm and atmosphere and still there are the sing-a long refrains we know from them. The guitar solo's are very good and in "I Refuse" it even sounds very bluesy.

Hammerfall did change a little bit, but not so much that it isn't recognizable as Hammerfall. A good record that will find it's ways to the fans.


01. Patient Zero
02. Bang Your Head
03. One More Time
04. The Outlaw
05. Send Me a Sign
06. Dia De Los Muertos
07. I Refuse
08. 666 - The Enemy Within
09. Immortalized
10. Let's Get It On
11. Redemption

Label: Nuclear Blast
Distribution: Warner Music (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: 17 May, 2011
Website: www.myspace.com/hammerfall