Guardians of Time
A Beautiful Atrocity
Style: Melodic Power Metal
Release date: 15 April, 2011
Playing time: 51:03

Seven years have passed since Norwegian quintet Guardians of Time released their sophomore album "Machines of Metal Design". Album number three "A Beautiful Atrocity" is as the title might indicate an album with contrasts. The foundation is still European Power Metal with glimpses of US Progressive Metal, but the span between the catchy parts and their darker and more aggressive parts are wider. This is a lot more modern and varied sounding album, and it suits their style very well.

"A Beautiful Atrocity" is a step up for them and sees them move away from the Helloween inspired power metal they use to produce. The diversity is clear in all aspects of this release, so do not expect another Helloween/Gamma Ray/Edguy-like clone here, no this is deeper and more though through than that.

A very good vocal performance, eleven well played songs paired up with an acceptable production makes this a solid album that will surely find it's fans...

01. The Beginning of the End (Intro)
02. Perverse Perfection
03. God v2.0
04. Monster
05. Altered in Red
06. Mind Divided
07. Heart of Darkness
08. Sleep Eternal
09. Dreamworld Messiah
10. Tide of Time
11. Only in a Dream
12. I, Sinner
13. The Man (Bonus Track)

Label: Mayhem Music
Promotion: Metal Revelation
Distribution: Indie Distribution
Reviewed by: Kenn Jensen
Date: 15 April, 2011