Freund Hein
Bourbon Triggered Death Machine
Style: Groove Thrash Metal
Release date: 23 September, 2011
Playing time: 44:57

The first track sets off with plain jumpy 80's thrash riffs and although the song has some novelties, it stays rather old school. The one thing that makes them different is the Hammond organ sounds. In every track the band uses them and sometimes it makes the song better, but sometimes it is a little too much. The vocals are harsh and rather low, almost leaning towards grunting ones at times. Responsible for them is Dirty Harry (no Joke), the problem is that there is not enough variation in his singing style and after a while it gets boring.

It almost seems to become a trend to write songs with a lot of groove in them. When you like this, this isn't a problem and Freund Hein (The Reaper) gets away with it. It counts for them that they try something to be different from a lot of other bands. The use of the Hammond sounds see to that. The musical base however is a decent combination of early American/German 80's death/thrash combined with a Pantera-like groove. I think there will be quite a few that will like this album. The Hammond sounds make them a little bit different and perhaps that can convince you to give this one a try. Not bad, but it didn't make me invite the neighbours over either.


01. Sugar Honey Iced Tea Guy
02. European Fuckface
03. Motör Constrictor
04. Atomicalypse
05. Bourbon Time
06. Residence: Box
07. Werechicken Horror Show
08. Hourglass Desaster
09. Regeneration
10. Frenzy Inside

Label: Twilight
Distribution: Twilight
Reviewed by: Reinier de  Vries
Date: 17 September, 2011