Glorious Collision
Style: Power Metal
Release date: 28 February, 2011
Playing time: 61:46

After all the internal turmoil lately it was with some anxiety I put on the new Evergrey album. Had it had an influence on the state of the band and the music...? Thankfully I can assure you all that this is unmistakably Evergrey, and Tom and his newly assembled band of brothers are leaving the past behind like it never happened.

The focus remains the same; on Tom's strong voice and intelligent lyrics, powerful riff-based power metal and strong choruses. So basically the things stay the same? Yes, to a certain degree, the special Evergrey vibe is still there, but the sound has taken a slight different road, which I feel was necessary for them to progress.

"Glorious Collision" has musically more in common with "In Search of Truth" and "Recreation Day" than with "Torn", an album I felt was a bit too depressive and dark. So they are basically moving forward with a more direct sound, playing to their own strengths and sticking with their well-known signatures. A very complete album and a step up compared to "Torn".

Evergrey has used the adversity to grow stronger and has again delivered a power metal album of the highest calibre.


01.  Leave It Behind Us (05:09)
02.  You (06:23)
03.  Wrong (05:07)
04.  Frozen (04:57)
05.  Restoring the Loss (04:40)
06.  To Fit the Mold (05:20)
07.  Out of Reach (03:40)
08.  The Phantom Letters (05:31)
09.  The Disease… (04:10)
10.  It Comes from Within (04:22)
11.  Free (03:42)
12.  I'm drowning alone (04:11)
13.  …And the Distance (03:47)

Label: SPV/Steamhammer
Distribution: Playground Music (Scandinavia)
Reviewed by: Kenn Jensen
Date: 18 February, 2011
Website: www.evergrey.net