Style: Melodic Progressive Metal
Release date: 26 August, 2011
Playing time: 65:19

This is the product of Samuel Arkan (guitarist in Virus IV), who has produced, composed all music composed and the lyrics have been written by him. He plays all guitars of the album, the bass is done by Kristoffer Gildenlw (Dial, Pain of Salvation), drums are done by Lo Margarit (Pain of Salvation, Ruud Jolie) and the keyboards and piano are done by Julien Spreutels (Ethernity). The album was recorded at Noise Factory Studio, Belgium and it was mixed and mastered here in my hometown Horsens by Tommy Hansen.

Portraying the characters in the story are: Kelly Sundown Carpenter as Kallon (The Profiler) (Beyond Twilight, Darkology), Magali Luyten as Esh (The Soul) (Ayreon, Beautiful Sin, Virus IV), Oddleif Stensland as Yae (The Fallen / Killer) (Communic), Liselotte Lilo Hegt as Valma (The Medium) (Ayreon, Dial, Valentine) and Rick Altzi as Maymos (The Ghost) (At Vance, Thunderstone). As the story progresses we are introduced to each character and they each get the chance to shine on their own.

The vocalists are the ones lifting this album to a higher level; giving the characters life and delivering a diverse and varied performance. The compositions are above average, well played and produced, and have some similarities with bands like Seventh Wonder, Tears of Anger, Darkwater, Beyond Twilight and the work of Arjen Lucassen without being as perfect.

Samuel Arkan has created an interesting story; a technical thriller and has surrounded himself with professionals. A wise move and the result is a very good album that surely should appeal to fans of the above mentioned bands.

Do check it out!


01. File 4180-1 (1.08)
02. Silences of Dawn (1.26)

03. First Blood (4.39)
04. Obsessions (4.17)

05. Invisible Nations (5.05)
06. Gemini Syndrome (5.42)
07. Fallen's Portrait (5.16)
08. Season of Redemption (4.10)

09. The Other Side (4.08)
10. The Shadow Lord (4.42)
11. One Chance (6.53)
12. Divine Whispers (5.32)

13. March of the Ghosts (7.12)
14. Last Sunset (4.38)

Label: AFM Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Kenn Jensen
Date: 18 August, 2011
Website: www.epysode.com