Gaia's Legacy
Style: Progressive Metal
Release date: 25 September, 2011
Playing time: 62:07

The new Eldritch spins its rounds in my CD-player and I still don't know what to think of it. It does have almost everything a good progressive record should have. The music is technical, progressive, aggressive, sometimes even raging towards thrash and on the other hand there are the resting points with piano and ballad kind of parts. There is even a lyrical concept based on Al Gore's documentary 'An Inconvenient Truth'. Yet I'm not completely convinced.

My problem with this album is that the music doesn't keep me focused from start to finish. First of all I think the vocals of Terence Holler are not top notch for this genre, they are far from bad, but they don't impress me completely. There is something in his sound that sometimes irritates me a bit. It might just be me; others will perhaps think the opposite. Another thing is that the songs don't keep rolling, there is enough tempo in several songs, but when you just get into it, it slows down. Compare it with a fast car, just when you want to push the gas a bit more, someone else hits the brakes. Again that is a feeling I get listening to this record and others will not have that problem.

The last part that irritates me after listening several times is the concept. Listening to the album often gives me a kind of preachy feeling, the environment, the environment, the environment, beware, beware ... Not that it isn't an important issue, but I hate being preached to! I don't spill water, I only take a 10-minute shower, I separate my waste, I go to work on my bike and my house is rather cold resistant. What else can I do? I still remember Al Gore's wife Tripper being the motor behind the PMRC, the ridiculous organization that were against artistically lyrical freedom. Just ask Dee Snider, Prince, Frank Zappa and Blackie Lawless, so I am not that enthusiastic about the Gore's either. I like at least 9 songs on the 'Filthy Fifteen' list, so I must be doomed! Beware of the Tipper Sticker! 

Back to the music, it is far from bad, but compared with all the other progressive music releases this month, Eldritch just won't make the step to the top. Nevertheless I think you should check this one out, there is enough good music on this album and perhaps you will love it completely. By the way, Eldritch's version of Fates Warning's "Through Different Eyes" is decent, but I prefer the original.


01. Gaia's Anger
02. Deviation
03. Our Land
04. Vortex of Disasters
05. Mother Earth
06. Everything's Burning
07. Thinning Out
08. Like a Child
09. Signs
10. Thoughts of Grey
11. Thirst in Our Hands                                       12. Through Different Eyes

Label: Scarlet Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Artwork rating: 50/100
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: 21 September, 2011
Website: www.myspace.com/neighbourhell