Sleep Paralyses
Style: Melodic Fantasy Metal
Release date: 22 March, 2011
Playing time: 52:07

Sometimes in life, we have to admit things, to each other and to ourselves, so here it is; I actually really like Nightwish. So there it's out, and I also really like Dotma. The otherworldly voice of Johanna Lesonen soaring over some world class music. It's just so beautiful Dammit! You are instantly transported to vast Icelandic glaciers or Elven forests. One can't help but imagine clear night skies emblazoned with countless mystic constellations, it fills the heart with beauty is what I'm saying.

That being said. It does get slightly formulaic at times, as the band seems almost reluctant to take too many risks,  hopefully as a result of playing it safe on account of this being the debut album of the Finish band. But the intent is there, and there are a  couple of interesting uses of vocal mixing, that lends an eerie sound to the experience, especially noticeable on the track "Kingdom of the Sky".


01. Legend of Blackbird (5:47)
02. Reborn (4:58)
03. Silent Sunshine (4:24)
04. Indian Fall (4:16)
05. Whispering (5:49)
06. The Cave (6:55)
07. Kingdom of the Sky (11:01)
08. Memory Worth Dying For (8:44)

Label: Scarlet Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Andy Wolfe
Date: 11 March, 2011