Style: Hard Rock/Alternative Metal
Release date: 17 June, 2011
Playing time: 37:24

A début. A short début perhaps but a very refreshing début. A female fronted metal band is still quite a rare thing. A metal band lead by a woman is even more of a rare sight, but Norwegian singer Agnete Kjolsrud does it with great skill and passion. She is not entirely unknown after appearances with both Solefad and more recently Dimmu Borgir. On top of that she also fronted the band Animal Alpha.

Agnete stands apart from a lot of other female singers in metal by having neither a symphonic approach nor masculine one, a true female rock and metal voice. Agnete Kjolsrud aside Djerv has two other core members in Messrs Stian Kĺrstad & Erlend Gjerde on guitar and drums.

The music is hard and catchy, sometimes crossing the border between hard rock and metal, sometimes not, but most often with small measure of Black Metal added to the mix. This is music that could appeal to both metal and rock fans if they are also in the mood for the vibe of anger that is also a central part of the music.

Hell, if Djerv does well and perhaps broadens their style a little bit they could also appeal to all those people who has taken a new band like Kvelertak to their hearts. This album was a positive surprise for me and I am looking forward to hear this band progress on forthcoming albums.


01. Madman  - 4.25
02. The Bowling Pin – 3.36
03. Headstone – 3.50
04. Gruesome Twosome – 4.05
05. Only I Exist – 4.24
06. Ladder To The Moon – 3.58
07. Abmuse – 4.49
08. Blind The Heat – 3.14
09. Immortal – 4.37

Label: Indie Recordings
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Artwork rating: 74/100
Reviewed by: Steen Schřn
Date: 10 September, 2011