Day of Reckoning
Style: Thrash Metal
Release date: 18 February, 2011
Playing time: 46:44

Ask a metal fan to write down 2 German thrash combos and I'm sure one of them will be Destruction. This band has been around since I started to like metal. In 2011 they release their 11th full-length since they started in 1982 as Knight of Demon. In 1989 Schmier left the band, to return 10 years later. Since then they have treated us with albums again on a regular basis.

I will not beat around the bush, this is their best album since Schmier's return. The band sounds hungry, fanatical and the sound of the album is ancient sounding in a modern way. The album takes off with a loud scream Tom Araya style... They definitely sound like Destruction all the way, but they are not afraid to introduce some more American thrash riffages of bands like Exodus. Listen for example to "Armageddonizer", a real heavy thrash motherfucker. The best song on the album however is "Church of Disgust", with such a title you don't have to be a genius to figure out what its about. The song has nice galloping riffs and together with "Armageddonizer" it will be a new favorite live track. 

After Onslaught, Legion of the Damned and Lazarus A.D. this is the 4th hell of a thrash album this year. Which one is the best? I am not sure yet, it is still a matter of personal taste. At the moment I tend to say Destruction or LOTD or Onslaught or Lazarus A.D. or Destruction or......, I can't make up my mind, so judge yourself.

The Day of Reckoning has come!


01. The Price
02. Hate Is My Fuel
03. Armageddonizer
04. Devil's Advocate
05. Day Of Reckoning
06. Sorcerer of Black Magic
07. Misfit
08. The Demon Is God
09. Church of Disgust
10. Destroyer Or Creator
11. Sheep of the Regime

Label: Nuclear Blast GmbH
Distribution: Warner Music Denmark
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: 12 February, 2011