To Hell with God
Style: Death Metal
Release date: 21 February, 2011
Playing time: 35:43

When I first listened to 'To Hell with God' almost a month ago, I was like: 'So? Couldn't Benton do better?'

But the thing is this: Every time I listen to the new Deicide album, it grows a little bit. It kind of exposes new, little details every time. A solo twist by Santolla here, a break by Asheim there, a ghoulish background voice by Benton whatever.

It has grown in my mind to belong in at least the best third of  Deicide albums. When you consider the fact that the band's career spans more than two decades of brutal death metal, that's not bad at all.

What makes it so good? It can hardly be a surprise that the technical level is in place. It certainly is. Steve Asheim amazes again. He's an impressive drummer. Jack Owen and Ralph Santolla...well, the word brilliant immediately springs to mind. Santolla's soloing really makes a difference - it adds something special.

And what of Glen Benton? The provocateur, the satanic fiend? To be honest, he hasn't really been the fiend he used to be over the past few albums. Perhaps I didn't really notice before this album, that he hasn't given us all he's got in years? Because this time, this time, there's real guts in Benton. There's rage in his voice(s). There's the anger that makes me feel that this guy is as pissed off at God as Lucifer was when he was tossed into the sulphurous pits of Hell. Welcome back to the real Glen Benton!

There's no immediate hit song on this album. It is an album that needs time and attention. I suggest you sit down and listen. And listen again. And again. It's worth it. It'll eventually worm it's way in there.


01. To Hell With God (4:20)
02. Save Your (3:32)
03. Witness of Death (3:05)
04. Conviction (3:15)
05. Empowered by Blasphemy (3:16)
06. Angels of Hell (3:12)
07. Hang In Agony Until You're Dead (3:59)
08. Servant of the Enemy (3:17)
09. Into the Darkness You Go (3:32)
10. How Can You Call Yourself a God (4:15)

Label: Century Media
Distribution: EMI (Denmark)
Artwork rating: 85/100
Reviewed by: Thomas Nielsen
Date: 4 February, 2011
Website: Deicide @MySpace