Corpus Christii
Luciferian Frequencies
Style: Blackened Death
Release date: 20 June, 2011
Playing time: 43:14

Luciferian Frequencies carries a pretty gruff edge to it, a solid mix of black and death riffing that ends up being quite listenable. Pacing throughout the album is rather strong. The speed sections frequently carry some thunder from the back end which get the blood pumping. More syncopated sections have cool, innovative grooves that provide a nice change of pace. The harmonies and more experimental sections seem novel enough as well.

I find myself drifting to the drum lines frequently throughout the album, as there a decent amount of fills, in addition to many moments where they kind of sweep everything else up and carry it along for the ride. The guitars carry a very depressing tone to them, every so often delving deeper into more evil sounding themes. The vocals are gruff and raspy. They aren't too bad, but often they seem as though they are swallowed up by the musical elements.

In terms of songwriting, there are some bright spots here or there, but it never really reaches upper echelon level stuff. Thus we kind of reach our limit with what we are working with for this album. It ends up being a solid listen throughout, but there really isn't anything that catches you as you're listening to it. It's one of those albums you'll enjoy when it's on, but doesn't quite have enough going for it that you feel compelled to pull it off the shelf and listen to it.


01. The Gate
02. The Owl Resurrection
03. Crystal Glaze Foundation
04. The Styx Reflection
05. Picatrix
06. Deliverer of Light
07. The Infidel's Cross
08. Be Dark Thy Light
09. Paths of Human Puzzles
10. In the Rivers of Red

Label: Candlelight Records
Distribution: Plastic Head Music
Artwork rating: 12/100
Reviewed by: The Rev
Date: 10 July 2011