The Bottom Deep
Style: Progressive Metal
Release date: 22 July, 2011
Playing time: 55:32

Fans of Communic will know that behind the label progressive metal hides a powerful and intense metal band plays fast and aggressive metal the thrash metal way, but in a modern way without drifting into metalcore territory. "The Bottom Deep" is album number four and the occasionally Metallica and Nevermore riff is still a big part of the game, but they do it so well that I don't mind at all...

The riff attack is once more what makes this album something extraordinary; Oddleif Stensland belongs in the same category as guys like Jeff Water and Jeff Loomis: riff masters! The album is packed with breath taking riffs and leads; the guitar work has always been the highlight of their music, while the vocals of Oddleif are what I feel is holding them back. He is by no means a bad vocalist, I do however miss more diversity but his limited range cuts that option off.

This is pure Communic all the way, they have an easily recognizable sound and they do not move outside the safe confines at all, which is the other complaint I have; this is a bit too safe. The songs are well written, produced and executed, but do tend to sound too familiar to their earlier material due to them sticking too much with what worked in the past.

They've set the bar very high with their previous three albums and "The Bottom Deep" is as strong as any of them, but they need to take a few chances if they are to move into the Champions League of European metal. Fans of their earlier work can add nine more fine Communic anthems to the collection and not a single song will disappoint them, I promise you that much.

"The Bottom Deep" is a fine and complex metal album, one which will help Communic gain even more, well deserved attention.

Good one!

01. Facing Tomorrow (7:44)
02. Denial (6:34)
03. Flood River Blood (5:16)
04. Voyage of Discovery (6:50)
05. In Silence with My Scars (6:23)
06. My Fallen (6:53)
07. Destroyer of Bloodlines (5:49)
08. Wayward Soul (7:03)
09. The Bottom Deep (2:38)
Label: Nuclear Blast
Distribution: Warner Music
Reviewed by: Kenn Jensen
Date: 9 July, 2011