Age of Hell
Style: Death/Thrash Metal core
Release date: 26 August, 2011
Playing time: 52:07

Why we didn't receive this album earlier I don't know, but when it finally arrived, I couldn't let this one pass. Even more so because I already had read the first positive reviews of the new album in some magazines. My curiosity was born and now I can judge it for myself.

The first track smashed me out of the chair. A heavy and aggressive song that sets the standard for what's next. The vocals are super aggressive and angry sounding, but understandable. The music has a Slayer reference in it. Next track "Clockwork" is a little less aggressive, but has a nice refrain. Since the last release there have been some changes in the line up; three members have left and the same number of new members was added. I must admit that it is very keen that the remaining members Rob Arnold and Matt Devries (no family as far as I know) wrote such well arranged songs. During "Time is Running Out" I have to think of Machine Head several times. Besides the aggressive vocals, the clean ones are used in several songs too. The songs are packed with fast guitar parts and tempo changes. The slowdown part in "Year of the Snake" makes this song really heavy and so you can find something surprising in most of the tracks.

The slowest and most soft song is "Beyond the Grave" - it sounds very modern and the clean singing fits the song. "Born in Blood" is again a real thrash grenade, with fast guitar work and aggressive vocals. The variety between the several songs keeps this album very interesting. With every song I was on the ball again. This sixth album will make Chimaira even more popular if you ask me. It is a very variable album, where modern metal, thrash, death, metal core and ambient pieces go hand in hand. If you can't find anything you like in this album, you are probably reading the wrong site!


01. The Age of Hell
02. Clockwork
03. Loosing My Mind
04. Time is Running Out
05. Year of the Snake
06. Beyond the Grave
07. Born in Blood
08. Stoma
09. Powerless
10. Trigger Finger
Scapegoat                                                   12. Samsara

Label: Long Branch Records / SPV
Distribution: Playground Music (Scandinavia)
Artwork rating: 70/100
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: 28 September, 2011