From the Depths of Darkness
Style: Black metal
Release date: 28 November, 2011
Playing time: 64:20

I think most sane people would agree that Kristian Vikernes, a.k.a Varg Vikernes, a.k.a. Count Grishnackh has done some foolish things in his comparitively short life span. In terms of ideologies, the man has clearly expressed a right-wing affiliation that I personally do not agree with, and in that sense, I've sometimes been sorry that I liked at least a couple of the albums he did, 'Daudi Baldrs' most notably.

Politics, killings and whatnot set aside, let's focus on the newly released re-recordings of some of the material from the first two albums, 'Burzum' and 'Det som engang var'.

The arise of Norwegian black metal in the beginning of the nineties had for me little positive connotations. OK, I'll put it plainly: I thought it sounded like shit. It did so for some time. It was only when Emperor, Bathory, Dimmu Borgir and Cradle of Filth began changing the recipe slightly that I could find some sense in it. Pure Norwegian black wasn't and still isn't my kettle of fish.

As a natural consequence hereof, 'From he Depths of Darkness' doesn't slide untested down my alley. But, BUT, where I'd plainly loathe the two original recordings now in part re-made by the Count, I'm thinking it's not as bad as I'd feared. I can actually see a point in the madness, and now that there's actually some sort of production, the Bathory and Venom influences are so much more apparent. Not that the latter was any a favourite of mine - the former certainly was, though.

Vikernes knows something about music, and he knows how to create an atmosphere. Yes, it is very possibly an atmosphere of coldness and antagonistic hate-mongering, but, let's face it, he does that brilliantly.


01. The Coming (introduction)
02. Feeble Screams from Forests unknown
03. Sassu Wunnu (introduction)
04. Ea. Lord of the Depths
05. Spell of Destruction
06. A lost forgotten sad Spirit
07. My Journey to the Stars
08. Call of the Siren (introduction)
09. Key to the Gate
10. Turn the Sign of the Microcosm
    (Snu Mikrokosmos' Tegn)
11. Channeling the Power of Minds into a new God

Label: Byelobog Productions
Distribution: Plastic Head
Artwork rating: 80/100
Reviewed by: Thomas Nielsen
Date: 5 December, 2011
Website: www.burzum.org