Bitter End
Have a Nice Death!
Style: Hard Rock
Release date: 9 August, 2011
Playing time: 67:23

First of all: This one of the coolest letters for the press I've seen in a long, long time! Very, very sassy PDF file with info, lyrics and images! That said, I really had to rummage my frail, old mind to dig out a vague memory of an Seattle band called Bitter End. But wait! Isn't there a vinyl record in my collection with this band?!

A bit of searching in the archives proved this to be true. And it all came back. This album, 'Harsh Reality', was actually one I listened to a lot back in 1991. There are really good songs on there! Not really thrash, but more than just heavy metal, it was a record that balanced somewhere between my complete adoration of Maiden and Metallica.

Eventually, the album faded slowly into oblivion when others offered tunes of more lasting value - such is art, such is the music business. I enjoyed putting the 'Harsh Realities' record on the player and listen to it, but to be honest, it's not as if I need to do it again right away.

This new release is not a bunch of new songs a reunited Bitter End. It was recorded back in 1991, some of it studio songs, others demo songs and some live cuts. The studio songs are...well, less heavy than the 'Harsh Realities' material - which initially surprised me a bit. But come to think of it - Nirvana had happened, and Jack Endino produced these tracks. Kind of logical that the sound of the band moved away from the almost-thrash style to this.

The live material and demo songs...well, this is a clear example of fans-only area.

I find it hard to see others than diehard fans of Bitter End to be interested in this release. I liked 'Harsh Realities' a lot back then, but I'm not exactly jumping with joy over this one. The material simply isn't strong enough to make a real difference in this day and age.


01. Tiny Minds
02. Right To Lie
03. Burning Bridges
04. No Law
05. Sludge
06. Tunnel Vision
07. Meet Your Maker (demo bonus track)
08. Save Us (demo bonus track)
09. Beat The System (demo bonus track)
10. Living Hell (demo bonus track)
11. Right To Lie (live bonus track)
12. Profits Of Doom (live bonus track)
13. Tiny Minds (live bonus track)
14. No Law (live bonus track)

Label: Metal-On-Metal Records
Buy the disc: Metal-On-Metal Records
Artwork rating: 60/100
Reviewed by: Thomas Nielsen
Date: 16 August, 2011