Breaking the Silence
Style: Thrash Metal / Punk Thrash
Release date: 28 February, 2011
Playing time: 43:12

When in 1986 the debut of ASSASSIN came out it crushed the current releases of SODOM, KREATOR and DESRUCTION with heaviness, fastness and compact riffs. Their official self-produced return in 2005 was anarchistic in a punk way and reminded some of the things of RUMBLE MILITIA. The German machine for killing overwhelmed the instability of the line-up and now unleashes new emblematic release!


Three men from the early years of the band participate in the break of silence - Robert Gonella (vocals), Jurgen ‘Scholli’ Scholz (guitars) and the wanderer Michael Hoffmann, who was sheltered in SODOM after the break up of ASSASSIN in 1989! SPV provided the producer Harris Johns who is famous with shaping classic thrash albums which entered the gold fund of the gender. There is no way such a mixture to burst out!


The result is a return to thrash metal standards of the early albums of ASSASSIN. Behind each of the songs there is a little bit punk coming from 2005. This is more sensible in the constantly fast EXPLOITED rhythm. The vocals of Robert are not as high as before. And also they are not high in the more kidding parts of the lyrics which are a lot. They remind Gerre from TANKARD. We cannot miss the brilliant cover artwork in the style of the new SODOM.


The constant punk rhythm although it is broken up at many places makes the songs faceless and makes the album an idea more monotonous than it is necessary. Even the slowest track in the album ‘No Fear’ suddenly enters the cliché. It is hard for me to believe that Harris Johns allowed rather digital sound which creates a distance among the musicians – especially in comparison to the eponymous demo from 2008.


Although the above-mentioned faults ‘Breaking the Silence’ is a remarkable album. I hear ASSASSIN again and if this line-up retains I will expect something exceptional.


01 .Breaking the Silence (5:00)
02. Raise in the Dark (3:16)
03. Judas (3:12)
04. Turf War (5:23)
05. Destroy the State (6:10)
06. No Fear (4:00)
07. Kill or be Killed (3:50)
08. Real Friends (3:27)
09. Strike Back (4:41)
10. I like Cola (4:13)

Label: SPV / Steamhammer
Distribution: Playground Music (Scandinavia)
Artwork rating: 85/100
Reviewed by: Maria D. S.
Date: 18 February, 2011