My Blood
Style: Thrash Metal
Release date: 21 March, 2011
Playing time: 53:32

Artillery is back with a storm! Expectations have been high for my part because in the old days Artillery was at the forefront of the first wave of thrash metal and after their comeback they have not disappointed either.

When I heard the album for the first time I was glad to hear an album that at the same time reminded me of the good old days listening to the band and sounded fresh and like an album from 2011. This is thrash but with a melodic side to it, this is not overdone and we can even enjoy some signature Middle Eastern sounds.

All the melodic parts does not over shadow all the killer riffs that is also contained within the album. The vocal work from Søren Adamsen really shines on My Blood; he is a master of both the singing required for the melodic parts and the rougher singing required in the more thrashy parts. Just listen to the first two tracks on the album and it should be clear what I mean. Excellent tracks in all aspects of the term. My Blood is a very long album and some parts are a bit mediocre but in an overall perspective this is a killer album.

The album is recorded here in Denmark and the production is really fine and to my liking as well. It is an album that can stand up to repeated listening and I can only recommend it to thrashers that don’t mind some melodic elements as well. Artillery makes me proud to be from Denmark!


01. Mi Sangre (The Blood Song) (07:33)
02. Monster (04:57)
03. Dark Days (05:12)
04. Death is an Illusion (05:16)
05. Ain't Giving In (04:55)
06. Prelude to Madness (01:06)
07. Thrasher (03:37)
08. Warrior Blood (05:10)
09. Concealed in the Dark (04:59)
10. End of Eternity (05:43)
11. The Great (05:04)

12. Show Your Hate 2011 (05:03) (Bonus track)
13. Eternal War 2011 (05:21) (Bonus track)

Label: Metal Mind Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Artwork rating: 80/100
Reviewed by: Steen Schön
Date: 5 April, 2011