Style: Modern Metal
Release date: 28 January, 2011
Playing time: 67:40

With band members named Obimahan Ismahil (vocals), Hannes Koller (vocals & guitar), Saheid Al Atmaah (guitar), Radek Karpienko (bass) and Cristoph Grabner (drums) it isn't easy to guess where they come from. Well this is a band from Austria and they sing in several kind of languages; German, English, Spanish and French. Clean, screams and growling vocals are presented on the album and that is not the only variety.

Modern thrash with metal core and melodic death metal parts and power metal influences, put together in rather well structured songs. For some people it will be too much, but when you are a bit more open-minded it will give you joy. They refined the style they played on their 2008 record 'The Healing". Back then I was not convinced by the album, too chaotic, but I appreciate this one just a bit more. It is all just better balanced and structured. If you dig Neaera and the modern metal bands that use clean vocals, you will find enough things you like in Artas' music. It is not very original, especially the alternation between the heavy aggressive singing and the cleaner melodic parts we already know from so many modern metal bands.

The use of several languages and the nice sounding short edgy thrashy riffs just make the difference for the band not to booze away in the overwhelming sea of releases.

01. A Journey Begins
02. Fortress of No Hope
03. The Day the Book Will Burn Again
04. The Suffering of John Doe
05. Rassenhass
06. O5
07. No Pasarán
08. The Grin Behind the Mirror
09. Gipfelstürmer
10. Le Saboteur
11. Mediafada
12. O5
13. Ashes of Failure
14. Between Poets and Murderers
15. A Martyr's Dawn
16. Surrounded by Darkness We are Able to See the Stars
Label: Napalm Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: 26 January, 2011