Arrayan Path
Ira Imperium
Style: Melodic Epic Power Metal
Release date: 4 November, 2011
Playing time: 64:57

Arrayan Path is really the project of singer Nicholas Leptos and this is the third album to date. The album features guest appearances of Tony Martin (ex-Black Sabbath) and Vagelis Maranis (Sanvoisen), who lends his voice on several songs. Socrates Leptos (guitar), Alexis Kleidaras (guitar), Vagelis Maranis (bass), George Kallis (keyboards) and Stefan Dittrich (drums) complete this albums line-up.

With the vocals on this album there is nothing wrong, all strong clear powerful ones and the choir parts (especially in "Emir of the Faithful") sound o.k. too. The 13 songs are all real epic power metal songs and aren't a lot different from what we know from their earlier albums. Great melodies, fast bass drums, great keyboard and piano parts, orchestral parts, happy tunes and an excellent production are the keywords for this album. Fast tracks like "Kiss of Kali" (with Eastern influences), "77 Days 'til Doomsday", "Amenophis" and more epic ones like "Gnosis Prometheus", "Katherine of Aragon" (with a nice heavy riff) and "I Sail across the Seven Seas"; the album has it all. "The Fall of Mardonius" is a very epic track with nice orchestral parts and you can hear the Iron Maiden influences lay on top. The bonus track is a touchy piano ballad that will be loved by a lot of girls even when they are not into metal. I advice you to keep your Handkerchief and shoulders very close.

Everyone that liked their previous album 'Terra Incognita' (Chris G.) and fans of the more happy side of power metal with an epic touch (think Angra, Freedom Call, Firewind, and Helloween) can grab a few coins again to purchase this album. Nothing new, but it sounds so very good! One of the better ones this year in the power metal genre.


01. Dies Irea
02. Gnosis of Prometheus
03. Ira Imperium (The Damned)
04. Kiss of Kali
05. Katherine of Aragon
06. 77 Days 'til Doomsday
07. Emir of the Faithful
08. Hollow Eyes of Nefertiti
09. Amenophis
10. Lost Ithaca                                                  11. I Sail Across the Seven Seas                         12. The Fall of Mardonius                                   13. The Poet Aftermath (bonus)

Label: Pitch Black Records
Distribution: Pitch Black Records
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: 24 October, 2011