Anubis Gate
Anubis Gate
Style: Progressive Power Metal
Release date: 16 September, 2011
Playing time: 63:01

If you name your fifth album the as like the band, success is guaranteed. Didn't one of the biggest metal bands to date do that too? Never mind, their 2009 album 'The Detached' was musically already a big step forward for this Danish band. That promises something for this fifth album. The first thing that strikes you when you listen to the first track is the vocals. Jacob Hansen took care of the vocals on the previous albums, but on this new album there are only four members left and the singing part is done by bass player Henrik Fevre. Fact is that he writes the lyrics to the songs and he knows how to express them the best. Don't think that Jacob Hansen was far away, he was not, and again he took care of the production and the mixing.

Henrik's singing is not as high pitched as Jacob Hansen's, but he does a very good job. Actually I didn't miss Hansen's vocals and that has to be a good signal. The album is a feast for your ears; the combination of progressive music with power metal has evolved again. The songs do at times give you a kind of pop song feeling; just listen to "Facing Dawn". On the other side, this is also one of their heaviest albums to date. The guitar riffing is more down tuned and in front. With "Desiderio Omnibus" and "Telltale Eyes", Anubis Gate has written some of the heaviest tracks to date. Listening to the beginning  of "Desiderio Omnibus", you would not have guessed that it is the same band. A very fast and heavy track.

Keyboard player Kim Olesen blesses us with nice keyboard lines and sounds capes throughout the album. The songs are progressive and technical, but due to good song writing they are rather easy to listen to. You don't need a high degree in mathematics to figure them out. Anubis Gate mixes AOR, progressive metal and power metal strongly influenced by the late 80's/early 90's (Queensryche, Iron Maiden, Fates Warning and Crimson Glory etc.). They have added heavy crunchy guitars to it, have taken the time to write catchy songs and finish it off with an Anubis Gate sauce. Variation is the key-word for this album, heavy riffing go hand in hand with contagious melodic songs with beautiful refrains.

It is expensive months for the progressive metal fan, but this is one you certainly need to pick up too!


01. Hold Back Tomorrow
02. The Re-Formation Show
03. Facing Dawn
04. World in a Dome
05. Desiderio Omnibus
06. Oh My Precious Life
07. Golden Days
08. Telltale Eyes
09. River
10. Circumstanced

Label: Nightmare Records
Distribution: Nightmare Records
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: 12 September , 2011