Echoes of the Fallen
Style: Metal core
Release date: 29 August, 2011
Playing time: 44:23

To play metal core nowadays isn't easy. Not that you need to study at the academy of music to be able to play the style, but more because as a band you must feel like a needle in a haystack. What is needed to stick out? What helps besides a good label, is touring with some well known bands and that is what Anterior did after the release of 'The Age of Silence'. They joined the stage with The Black Dahlia Murder, Devildriver, Himsa, Dragonforce, Dying Fetus, All That Remains, The Haunted, Malefice and Children of Bodom. After that you have to surprise the world with a second first class album to convince the metal core fans you still haven't won.

"Echoes of the Fallen" has to do that and I am not really convinced if this is the album that will make it happen? The songs on the album are all good melodic metal core tracks, no doubt about that. They are well played, are full of good thrash riffs and have some very outstanding melodic guitar solos. The tracks make you want to bang your head to and that is always an important point (if you are not bald like me). Why don't they convince me completely? For a part that is because the vocals of Luke Davies are too average, they sound a bit too standard metal core like. Another thing is that the music sounds very similar to Unearth. Which isn't bad of course because they are one of the better bands in the genre, but there is already a band called Unearth and do we need another one?

I think you should find out the answer to that yourself. This is certainly a good album, but it is again an album full of average metal core. Perhaps it is time for me not to review bands out of this genre for a while, just to become hungry again. At the moment I am a bit pleased. It wouldn't be fair though to let Anterior be the victim of that.


01. To Live Not Remain
02. Blood In The Throne Room
03. Tyranny
04. Of Gods and Men
05. By Horror Haunted
06. Echoes of the Fallen
07. The Evangelist
08. Sleep Soundly No More
09. Venomous
10. Senora de Las Sombras

Label: Metal Blade Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Artwork rating: 55/100
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: 23 August, 2011