Anaal Nathrakh
Style: Grind/Black/Industrial
Release date: 23 May, 2011
Playing time: 36:09

Extreme metal extremists will know what I’m talking about, when I say that Anaal Nathrakh doesn’t fuck around. Ever since The Necro Codex – their gruesome black metal demo from 2001 – they have set the standard of nightmares made music.

From the outset of raw black, fast-paced but recognizable as a musical genre work, Anaal Nathrakh has spent the last ten years transforming one of the darkest veins of metal into a grotesque mutant monster of their own. They have let loose the best of the worst, mixing black with noize industrial, grindcore and ambient.

Their last album, In the Constellation of the Black Widow, is among my absolute favorite albums of all time. That one had all of the above, plus some very eery melodious riffs, but it was the pure chaotic energy of the album that really spoke to me. Some of that energy has been turned into symphonic horror, a tad slower than we’re used to, but all the more emotionally mind twisting.

Also, the polymath genius, Irrumator (Mick Kenney), has added some truly chest-pounding power chords to some of slower songs – my neck is still raw from listening to Ashes Screaming silence!

Passion is every bit is strange and violent as all the former releases by this magnificent duo, though not as instantly likeable it will cling to your spine and spread its black vibes. Eventually your mind will surrender. Mine did and I’m very happy!


01: Violenti Non Fit Iniuria
02: Drug-Fucking Abomination
03: Post Traumatic Stress Euphoria
04: Le Diabolique est L’ami du Simple
05: Locus of Damnation
06: Tod Huetet Uebel
07: Paragon Pariah
08: Who Thinks of the Executioner
09: Ashes Screaming Silence
10: Portrait of the Artist

Label: Candlelight Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Martin Schjönning
Date: 28 April, 2011