The Beginning of Times
Style: Kalevala Metal
Release date: 27 May, 2011
Playing time: 54:44

Eventhough I picked it up in an English version years ago during one of my trips to Helsinki, the Kalevala is one those collections of myths that I never actually managed to sit down and read. Everytime I dig into Amorphis, I tell myself that I should take the book down from the shelf and get on with it finally.

I'm telling myself the same again right now, as the tones of 'The Beginning of Times' pour into my ears for the umpteenth time over the past couple of weeks. The Finns are definitely persistent in keeping the immensely high quality level of the past couple of albums, I must say.

The first couple of times I listened through the album, I thought I'd mistakenly put a Nightwish album into the player - the intro, honestly, it could easily have been composed by Toumas Holopainen, but the characteristic Amorphis sound quickly takes over.

Tomi Joutsen has now established himself as THE voice of Amorphis, and he grows with the task with every album. Especially the clear vocal parts are fantastic. The growl sections are - I don't know - somehow not so important anymore. I could easily live without them, that's what I'm trying to say. It's as if they're just there for show, the real hit is the melancholy, clear vocals that Joutsen delivers.

Although quite diverse, Amorphis' music is not complicated music these days, but as always the Finns know how to write tunes with brilliant harmonies and a straightforward and catchy hook line.

Excellent album, one that'll be spinning in my player many times in the future, I reckon.


01. Battle For Light (5:35)
02. Mermaid (4:24)
03. My Enemy (3:25)
04. You I Need (4:22)
05. Song Of The Sage (5:26)
06. Three Words (3:55)
07. Reformation (4:33)
08. Soothsayer (4:09)
09. On A Stranded Shore (4:12)
10. Escape (3:51)
11. Crack In A Stone (4:55)
12. Beginning Of Time (5:50)

Label: Nuclear Blast
Distribution: Warner Music
Artwork rating: 75/100
Reviewed by: Thomas Nielsen
Date: 17 May, 2011