War from a Harlot's Mouth/Burning Skies
Split EP
Style: Grindcore Thrash Death
Release date: July 2nd 2010

This split is made of grindcore ideology: the united work, the format of the release itself, the production and the unpretentious artwork, and the malign - jocular messages.


War from a Harlot’s Mouth have emphasized on this philosophy. The anti-stars culture and the escape from the genders’ clichés is the basic faith of the Germans. However the fact that they have erased their faces from their MySpace profile cannot hide their music influences. As we exclude the powerful shadow of NAPALM DEATH, the band plays variegated thrash metal in its fast and slow options which is fortified with grind parts and a characteristic strong bass. In addition, the harsh hysterical vocals conquer wide metal territories in the three tracks.


The Englishmen BURNING SKIES have more conventional grindcore approach with plenty of fast parties. They also have not implemented the unnecessary grunting. And they are amongst the few English bands which lyrics could be heard. In the three songs there is a pinch of hardcore as well.


In the third part of the split the two bands have exchanged a cover song one to another. And they have played a song together. Having in mind the similarity in their styles and in their vocals, the cover songs dilute stylistically but they are completely in the spirit of the CD. The joint track of War from a Harlot’s Mouth and BURNING SKIES is a true joke gem – a scoff rap song which successfully beats the rap of OBITUARY & BULLET BOYS!!!


The CD is a hidden bomb which could defeat wild territories of grindcore, hardcore, thrash and death metal. Enjoy it!


01. The Shape of Nothing to Come
02. Monolith
03. Omega
04. Precision Crippling
05. Shitfarmer
06. Morbid Engel
07. RKD
08. Trife Life
09. Fighting Dwarves with Keytars

Label: Lifeforce Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Maria D. S.
Date: May 9th 2020