Voodoo Johnson
10,000 Horses
Style: Hard Rock
Release date: August 23rd 2010

To even mention Alice In Chains, Audioslave and Metallica in the promo material accompanying this CD is to me a completely unnecessary thing to do. I'd say, it's bordering on sacriledge to attempt to compare this young British with those bands.

I've gone through '10,000 Horses' again and again now, and, really, I can't hear how the comparison can be justified. Yes, Romesh Dodangoda's production is fabulous. Yes, Voodoo Johnson play well, have a decent singer and sound like a real rock band. Yes, this could have been recorded during the nineties when Metallica, Alice In Chains and Soundgarden were at the height of their careers.

But, no, the song material is not amazing. No, the nerve and power that makes a really fantastic rock album is simply not present.

This is a good rock album with all the ingredients needed for popularity (there's a couple of radio-friendly semi-ballads, too, of course). The ingredients to make it a classic, however, are not there. This wants to be a big rock album of the nineties, but for the most part fails to be so. A talented band, no doubt, and it's a good stab at big rock music, but the spark that ignites greatness remains to be seen.


01. Headstone
02. Sin!
03. Feel Karma
04. End of the Empire
05. You Will Never Know
06. It Doesn't Matter to Me
07. Burn
08. Nowhere Inbetween
09. Sleepwalker
10. Rain
11. Never Make It Out Alive

Label: Polarian Records
Promotion: Gordeon Music
Distribution: Code 7
Artwork rating: 50/100
Reviewed by: Thomas Nielsen
Date: July 25th 2010
Website: voodoojohnson.com