Style: Black Thrash Metal
Release date: November 16th 2009

One cannot exactly say that one is looking forward to discover a new album of Urgehal. This because the band has statuated where they stand five times before; one knows what one's gonna get. It's the Urgehal way or the highway. The new album, Ikonoklast is no exception to this.

Urgehal live is something for itself, with their raw energy that I , for once, happen to find again on Ikonoklast. There is something ultra metallic and raw in the sound, that, though not being particularly well-done, makes Ikonoklast sound like it had been recorded live from a concrete underground scene, which is precisely the condition in which I enjoy Urgehal. Personal favourite: track 4 and its satanic solo towards the end.

The analogies with other bands, for what concerns the riff style or the riffs themselves (COF addicts, check out track 3!), are many, but it hasn't got tedious yet to listen to Ikonoklast when in the right mood.

The riff-based compos' band has managed to dig up rather long songs where no much variation happens, and still make them attractive to the ones in need of screaming their guts out.


01.  Stesolid self-Destruction to Damnation
02. Dødelagt
03. Cut their Tongue shut their Prayer
04. The Necessity of total Genocide
05. Kniven rider dypt i natt
06. Astral Projection to rabid Hell
07. Approaching Doom
08. Holocaust in Utopia
09. Sopor Necrosantus

Label: Season of Mist
Distribution: Season of Mist
Reviewed by: LyM
Date: March 1st 2010
Website: www.myspace.com/urgehal666