The Ocean
Style: Proggressive Rock and stuff
Release date: April 9th 2010

It’s hard to put a label on The Ocean because their music contains ingredients from every rock genre... plus ingredients from other genres as well. They are progressive, melodic, aggressive and every thing in between.


The Ocean will release 2 albums here in 2010, entitled ‘Heliocentric’ and ‘Anthropocentric’. The concept at the base of both albums is a critique of Christianity from different philosophical and personal perspectives.


Well... while their 2009 release ‘Fluxion’ did manage to win me over after numerous listens, ‘Heliocentric’ has failed to do the same. We get 10 songs and almost 51 minutes of progressive rock and progressive modern metal. But I have the feeling that this CD goes on and on and on. Most of the music is way too laid back for my taste and another sad thing is that nothing really sticks. A few of the songs sounds like Neal Morse in slow motion so that's slow, right?


I’m sure that there will be takers out there for this CD and I’m sure that fans of progressive rock music will find something they like on ‘Heliocentric’ so don’t hesitate to check it out.


I just wish for more energy on their next release.


01. Shamayim

02. Firmament

03. The First Commandment Of The Luminaries

04. Ptolemy Was Wrong

05. Metaphysics Of The Hangman

06. Catharsis Of A Heretic

07. Swallowed By The Earth

08. Epiphany

09. The Origin Of Species

10. The Origin Of God

Label: Metal Blade Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Artwork rating: 50/100
Reviewed by: Peter Laursen
Date: April 21st 2010