Sole Method
The Way of the Descent
Style: Modern thrash metal
Release date: October 22nd 2010
Playing time: 44:49

This four-piece hails from Austria and with 'The Way of the Descent' they bring out their second album. The first thing that protrudes are the drums, they do sound a little bit hollow to me, but after a few songs you get a little used to that.

Sole Method plays thrash with rather heavy guitars and some groove in the songs. Vocalist Peter screams a bit like a hardcore singer and less like a thrash vocalist. The melodic guitars make the songs more interesting and sometimes the tempo is on full speed. When they play fast, it sometimes sounds a bit more chaotic and I have to say that the band is at its best when they play a little slower. In the song "Me myself and I" they use some keyboards and clean singing, this is a track that differs the most compared to the other tracks.

All in all, Sole Method are capable musicians who wrote a nice album which might be a little too heavy for the general thrash fan. The groovy songs stick, but when the tempo is high, they sound a bit chaotic. The vocalist is not the best I have heard, but that is not a big problem. You certainly should listen first before buying, perhaps it is completely your style, but be your own judge.

01. Echoes of the Dark

02. All Or Nothing

03. Suicide Is Painless

04. The Way Of The Descent

05. The New Brave

06. What It's Like To Be a Machine

07. Blasted and Broken

08. Me Myself and I

09. Black Eyed

10. Revelation Time

11. Nightcrawler (Judas Priest)

Label: Twilight
Distribution: Twilight Vertrieb
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: October 16th 2010