The Shadow Theory
Behind the Black Veil
Style: Progressive Metal
Release date: November 22nd 2010
Playing time: 57:24

The news that Psychotic Waltz is back together in the original line-up including Buddy Lackey and that there are plans for a tour and possible a new album has spread fast among progressive metal fans, and what has The Shadow Theory to do with this news-flash?

The common denominator is Devon Graves (Buddy Lackey) and "Behind the Black Veil" is the debut album from The Shadow Theory, and an album that has been in the making for the past four years. Devon Graves has surrounded himself with a few newcomers to the scene and some long serving members; Johanne James (Drums, Threshold) and Kristoffer Gildenl÷w (Bass, ex-Pain of Salvation) form a very strong rhythm section, while guitarist Arne Schuppner and keyboard player Demi Scott are new to most.

"Behind the Black Veil" has musically more in common with his eleven years in Psychotic Waltz, the "Mosquito" and "Bleeding" era first and foremost, than with Deadsoul Tribe, with the music being thrashier, more psychedelic and even a bit more symphonic, simply more versatile and darker. The reference with Psychotic Waltz becomes even more obvious when Devon pulls out his flute, which he thankfully does on a few tracks; other bands that come to mind are King Diamond and Tool - just look at the album artwork.

A very well rounded album and an album that is the perfect passage from Deadsoul Tribe to Psychotic Waltz and an album all fans of Devon Graves will adore with good reason.

Good one!

01. I Open Up My Eyes (7:04)
02. The Sound of Flies (4:40)
03. Ghostride (5:32)
04. Welcome (5:02)
05. By the Crossroads (5:34)
06. Selebrate (3:17)
07. Snakeskin (3:48)
08. Sleepwalking (5:17)
09. The Black Cradle (5:14)
10. A Candle in the Gallery (3:56)
11. A Symphony of Shadows (7:54)
Label: InsideOut Music
Distribution: EMI (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Kenn Jensen
Date: November 21st 2010