Heart of the Machine
Style: Melodic Rock/Melodic Hard Rock
Release date: September 24th 2010
Playing time: 45:00

SALUTE centred around Mikael Erlandsson (Last Autumn’s Dream) are back with a follow up to their 2009 release ‘Toy Soldier’ which was a quite good melodic rock/hard rock album that I still enjoy from time to time.


SALUTE follows the same footsteps as they did on ‘Toy Soldier’, so no changes in their style and sound. The band has once again written a handful of catchy rock songs that will possess you no matter how hard you try to resist them. Some of the songs do need a few listens to grow but overall they have once again hit the mark.


The album is made up of melodic rock songs in the same vein as Last Autumn’s Dream and more straight forward hard rockers with a tad harder sound. Some of the songs will maybe be a bit too soft for the average metal listener but I’m sure that they can find something they dig on ‘Heart of the Machine’.


Well... maybe this review is a bit incomplete... but if you enjoyed ‘Toy Soldier’ I can’t see any reason why you shouldn’t enjoy this one as well.


I SALUTE them!


01. Higher 

02. A Falling Star

03. Feed Your Hunger

04. I Will Be There

05. Tearing Me Down

06. Heart Of The Machine

07. The Long Haul

08. Shadows

09. Train Of Rock 'n' Roll

10. My Part In this Pain

11. Your Servant Tonight

Label: Escape Music
Distribution: Connecting Music
Artwork rating: 58/100
Reviewed by: Peter Laursen
Date: October 11th 2010
Website:  -