Return To Earth
Style: Aggressive Industrialized Electronic Hardrock
Release date: August 16th 2010

I don't know Return To Earth's debut 'Captain Of Industry', but I think I will look for it, this new album made me very curious. The band members are: Ron Scalzo (vocals, keys); Chris Pennie (drums); Brett Aveni (guitars). Chris Pennie has been part of The Dillinger Escape Plan and Ron Scalzo's vocals have a kind of Mike Patton vibe.

This can all be traced in the songs. There is mathcore, there are pieces that will make you think of Faith No More and there are several electronic parts. Guitarist Brett has the ability to create some interesting catchy riffs and hooks. All of this put together makes Return To Earth music very variable, sometimes very catchy, but at times chaotic too. All in all, it is a very interesting piece of music. Muse, Ministry, Faith No More, System of a Down are just a few bands that can be found back in the several tracks. The styles used are maybe not original, but using the styles together, makes this band rather original.

This is an album that has to grow and cannot be judged after one spin. It blossoms spin after spin and I think this band will make a step forward with this album. If you like Faith No More, I think you will dig this one too. Nice one!


01. Automata

02. You Will Be Replaced

03. Back Of My Hand

04. 1.0

05. Edge Of Forever

06. Night Of The Exploding Razors

07. Snakeface

08. The Dots Do Not Connect

09. 2.0

10. The Replicas

11. So Close

12. God At The End Of The World

13. 3.0

14. Exit Wound

15. The Altercation of Man

Label: Metal Blade Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Reviewed by:

Reinier de Vries

Date: August 13th 2010