A Discord Electric
Style: Melodic Electronic Death Pop Metal
Release date: September 20th 2010

Since the release of their first album, 'Velvet Noise' (2001), the learning and thus the creativity curve has gone up steadily Danish Raunchy. From being a poppy Fear Factory clone, the sextet with each release have grown their own identity and found their strengths and cultivated them.

'A Discord Electric' is the culmination so far in that process. The level of creativity is high, boundaries are yet again broken down, the production (provided by Jacob Hansen) is big, bombastic and perfect - everything simply falls into place.

The beauty of Raunchy is that they master both pop and metal to the full. They can handle gentle, poppy softness (listen to the fragility of the intro of the album, the middle section of Shake Your Grave and Big Truth) and the electronic sounds of the eighties without overdoing it. The rhythm section is as strong as Fort Knox and the dual vocals of Jeppe Christensen and Kasper Thomsen create dynamics that few bands on the Danish metal scene manage to come up with.

At the same time, the headbangers out there should have no fear what so ever; there is plenty of room for the heads down, thundering metal - try for example Rumors of Worship or the electronically induced thrasher The Yeah Thing. 

If this album doesn't bring Raunchy fortune and fame, then there is no justice in this world.


01. Dim The Lights And Run( 5:24)
02. Rumors Of Worship (5:15)
03. Nght Prty (4:58)
04. Street Emperor (5:32)
05. Blueprints For Lost Sounds (5:44)
06. Shake Your Grave (5:22)
07. Tiger Crown (5:55)
08. Big Truth (3:59)
09. The Great Depression (4:43)
10. The Yeah Thing (5:22)
11. Ire Vampire (5:16)
12. Gunslingers And Tombstones (7:13)

Label: Life Force Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Artwork rating: 85/100
Reviewed by: Thomas Nielsen
Date: September 4th 2010
Website: Raunchy@MySpace