Shin - Ken
Style: Melodic, Technical and Progressive Death Metal
Release date: February 1st 2010

This is the first and only metal band so far I am familiar with that hails from Andorra. Andorra is a little country with about 85,000 inhabitants and is situated between France and Spain. I don't know if there actually is a metal scene there, but Persefone is a band worth listening to. This is their third album and it is going to be released by Kolony Records.

It was produced, mixed and mastered by Tommy Hansen in the Jailhouse Studios so the sound is o.k. The music they play is not very easy to see through. They mix technical death metal with easy clean singing melodic symphonic parts and virtuosity. They found inspiration in bands like Opeth, Dark Tranquillity, Symphony X, In Flames, Dimmu Borgir and even Cacaphony. One should probably expect songs that have no head or tail, but after listening to the songs for several times the material grows and begins to stick. Of course there are lots of variety and tempo changes in the songs, but you get used to that also. The link with Cacaphony and Symphony X can best be found in the freaky virtuoso guitar solos and keyboard parts.

'Shin - Ken', Literally meaning "real sword", is a Japanese term used to describe a Japanese sword that is sharp and used for real cutting or combat The lyrical theme on this record is very Japanese and the record has already been released out there for a while. I have no idea if this album will find its way to a lot of metal fans in Europe, but it certainly deserves it. However, for death metal fans it could be too virtuoso and varied and perhaps it is too heavy and fast sometimes for the more progressive minded ones. But perhaps they can run with the hare and hunt with the hounds.

I would recommend you to listen to it and then decide if it is your piece of cake or not. If you like the other Kolony Records band Be'Lakor, you might like this one too.

An album that has to grow in order to blossom.


01. The Ground Book

02. Fall to Rise

03. Death Before Dishonour

04. The Water Book

05. The Endless Path

06. The Wind Book

07. Purity

08. Rage Stained Blade

09. The Fire Book

10. Kusanagi

11. Shin Ken part 1

12. Shin Ken part 2

13. The Void Book

14. Japanese Poem

Label: Kolony Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Reviewed by:

Reinier de Vries

Date: January 19th 2010