Truth Or Dare
Style: Electro Metal
Release date: February 26th 2010

Several bands have tried to merge electronic music with Metal but Oomph! are one of the true pioneers of this concept. Often shelved in the 'Gothic' pidgeon-hole, this music has always been particularly popular in Germany. Sure enough, the lyrics of Oomph!'s songs are prevalently in German, their mother tongue. In "Truth Or Dare" the band attempts to make their music more widely accessible by reoffering a selection of their repertoire...with English lyrics.

The quality of the songs vary and sometimes the ‘translated’ version don't always work, such as in 'Sandman' and 'Burning Desire', the latter featuring L'Ame Immortelle, another Electro-Goth pioneer. On the whole, however, these versions are quite good. 'Song Of Death', for example, is haunting but captivating. 'Crucified' is also one of the better songs and is highly reminiscent of Rammstein, on whom Oomph! were an important source of inspiration.

What probably sets Oomph! apart from other Electro-Metal bands is a strong focus on songwriting skills rather than atmosphere and this is perfectly epitomised in this collection.


01. Ready Or Not (I'm Coming)
02. Burning Desire [feat. L’Âme Immortelle]
03. Song Of Death [feat. Apocalyptica]
04. Labyrinth
05. Sandman
06. The Final Match
07. God Is A Popstar
08. Wake Up
09. Land Ahead [feat. Sharon den Adel]
10. Sex Is Not Enough
11. Crucified
12. The Power Of Love
13. True Beauty Is So Painful
14. The First Time Always Hurts
15. Dream Here (With Me) [feat. Marta Jandova]
16. On Course

Label: Sony Music
Distribution: Sony Music
Reviewed by: Chris Galea
Date: June 24th 2010
Website: www.oomph.de