Style: Death Metal
Release date: February 16th 2010

’Retribution’ is the first full-length album from technical death metallers OBSCURA and now re-released with a new and better cover artwork and 3 bonus tracks.


And well... I was quite eager to get my hands on this re-release because I was totally blown away by their 2009 release ‘Cosmogenesis’. And even though that I find ‘Cosmogenesis’ better than ’Retribution’ I’m not disappointed. OBSCURA knows how to play that’s for sure and this CD reminds me of such bands as DEATH, ATHEIST and PESTILLENCE with a hint of a blackened death metal band.


We get lots of twists and turns and blast-beats and the excellent track “Exit Life” is worth the whole CD alone. OBSCURA’S music is not for everyone and will probably only attract pure death metal fans... BUT I could be wrong. I’m sure that fans of technical metal in general could find something they like on their albums.


I’m impressed with how good they are to weave riff after riff together to a final song without sounding completely boring as some bands in this genre tends to do. You find new things that blow your socks off with every single listen and their music really comes alive when you bury your head in your headphones. And ’Retribution’ grows with every single listen... period.


’Retribution’ is not quite as strong as ‘Cosmogenesis’ but a very solid start for this band.


Check it out now.


01. Humankind

02. Nothing

03. Unhinged

04. None Shall Be Spared

05. Alone

06. Hymn To A Nocturnal Visitor

07. Hate Anthem

08. Exit Life

09. Sentiment

10. Sweet Silence

11. Lack Of Comprehension (Death cover)

12. Synthetically Revived (Suffocation cover)

13. God Of Emptiness (Morbid Angel cover)

Label: Relapse Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Artwork rating: 75/100
Reviewed by: Peter Laursen
Date: April 7th 2010
Website: www.myspace.com/realmofobscura