Norma Jean
Style: Mathcore
Release date: July 26th 2010

I always found it a strange name, but now I know where it comes from. Norma Jean is the real name of Marilyn Monroe. This is their fifth album and until now the first four didn't give them much fame. Perhaps this will change with 'Meridional'.

One thing changed a bit, some songs are a bit easier to listen to without losing the aggression and the heaviness. The mathcore of the band is still there, but they don't loose the grip and the songs don't turn out in messy chaotic rags of music. Singer Cory Brandan barks the songs together in a very good way and makes the tracks more accessible. Fans of Dillinger Escape Plan and Mastodon should have a nice time with this one. And is it a coincidence that the artwork reminds of Mastodons 'Leviathan'?

Doesn't matter, this is their best so far.


01. Leaderless and Self Enlisted

02. The Anthem Of The Angry Brides

03. Deathbed Atheist

04. Bastardizer

05. A Media Frienly Turn For the Worse

06. Septentrional

07. Blood Burner

08. High Noise Low Output

09. Falling From the Sky: Day Seven

10. Everlasting Tapeworm

11. Occidental

12. The People That Surround You On a Regular Basis

13. Innocent Bystanders United

14. Oriental

Label: Razor & Tie
Distribution: Plastic Head Music
Reviewed by:

Reinier de Vries

Date: August 2nd 2010