Style: Death Metal
Release date: March 15th 2010

This Slovenian band started 12 years ago and 'DeathCulture' will be their 4th release. In the early days they played a kind of Pagan black metal with some flutes. This new record has a variety of styles to it and especially the last songs are the most interesting ones. To be sure of a great sound, the album was mixed by Peter Tägtren and mastered by Jonas Kjellgren.

The songs are rather technical and for a part a mix of modern death metal a la Scar Symmetry/Fear Factory (without the clean singing) and black metal a la Cradle of Filth/Dimmu Borgir. However with this description I am far from spot on. Take a song like the groovy: "Monarch", the almost dance-able rhythms in the track "Demoncracy" and the grindy vocals in "Demagog". After the epic track "Holymen", they serve us a song with Eastern (Slovenian?) influences; it would not have been misunderstood on the new Orphaned Land record. Lots of variety to be found on this album and that's already a lot nowadays.

I am sure the lyrics have interesting themes too, but at the moment I have no idea what they are about, although the titles can give you a hint. A nice album that takes some time, but gets better spin after spin.


01. Premonition

02. Terror

03. Delluders & Followers

04. Monarch

05. Demoncracy

06. Slavedriver

07. Rust

08. Non Individuum

09. Catarsis

10. Demagog

11. Holymen

12. Samsara

13. S.M.02

Label: Listenable Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Reviewed by:

Reinier de Vries

Date: February 23rd 2010