Style: Progressive Powermetal
Release date: March 26th 2010

Two years after the release of 'Reversing Time' the Greek/Turkish band Neverland is back with their second album 'Ophidia'. The first thing that strikes out is the more metallic approach. In general the songs are heavier, but still there are still enough epic, atmospheric and progressive elements.

The vocal performance of Oganalp Canatan is quite all right (but still not superb), but with some guest vocals from Jon Oliva, Edu Falschi and Urban Breed the level of the album gets a boost. I'm pretty sure the band also knows this and therefore they invite the guests, just listen to "Invisible War". Just like on the first album, the female vocals are done by Iris Mavraki.

The songs on this album do not sound as complex as they did on the debut and like on the first album, the songs have nice arrangements. Fans of the first album can buy the album for sure and readers, who like Blind Guardian, Angra, Rhapsody and Shadow Gallery ("Speak to me”), will surely find some interesting elements too. Catchy progressive symphonic music with passion - nothing wrong with that.


01. This Voice Inside

02. Silence The Wolves

03. Ophidia

04. Will Of God

05. Invisible War

06. Places Unknown

07. No One Leaves the Hive

08. Speak to Me

09. Ashes to Fall

10. Final Odyssey

11. The Forests of Hope

12. Dying Threads

13. Into the Horizon

Label: AFM Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Reviewed by:

Reinier de Vries

Date: March 17th 2010